The position of Regional Sports Director was established in 1987 as an initiative of the Christchurch Secondary Schools Principals Association and became operational in 1988. It replaced the Christchurch Secondary Schools Sports Masters’ Association, and the Christchurch Secondary Schools Sports Mistresses’ Association.

The Canterbury Regional Sports Director is one of fifteen Regional Sports Directors nationally, and the Canterbury position was the first to be established. Similar positions were subsequently established by Principals Associations in Auckland and Wellington, followed by a joint initiative in Waikato between the Principals Association and Sport Waikato (Regional Sports Trust)

The position of Sports Director was established by the Christchurch Secondary Schools Principals Association, and continues to be owned by the Canterbury/West Coast Secondary Schools Principals Association. The Association established a subcommittee, the Sports Director’s Management Committee, to manage the position. Initially, this committee consisted of four principals, and the chairpersons of the existing Sports Masters’ and Sports Mistresses’ Association. Since the inception of the NZ Secondary Schools Sports Council, the Canterbury/Aoraki/West Coast principal representative on the NZSSSC Board is a co-opted member of the committee if not already on the committee.

Initially, 28 schools in the greater Christchurch area were the founding partners of the office. A further thirteen Christchurch schools have subsequently joined the office. In 1993, the eight Canterbury country high and area schools, which comprise the Combined Country High Schools Sports Association, joined the office. Ashburton and Mt Hutt Colleges are dual partners of both the Aoraki and Canterbury offices.

Principal members of the Management Committee are elected on a needs basis at general meetings of the Principals Association. Heads of Sport are represented by two members, one of which is elected each year for a two year term. They are eligible for re-election.